facebook icon twitter icon instagram icon pinterest icon youtube icon


The Doc Holliday Collection is the first satellite location for the Glenwood Springs Historical Society. The society’s parent location, the Frontier Museum, is located at 1001 Colorado Avenue. Needing extra room to tell the story of Doc’s Life, Legend and Lore, the museum partnered with Bullock’s Store to open a second location in the heart of downtown Glenwood Springs at 732 Grand Avenue. This particular location has great meaning because, in 1887 Doc died in the ornate Hotel Glenwood which once rose out of that very spot.

In the collection you will see the only wooden beam and original stone walls that survived the 1945 fire that destroyed the Hotel Glenwood. There are photos and drawings of John Henry (Doc) Holliday, his pocket watch, a notorious derringer that reportedly belonged to Doc and items representing the historic time period during which he lived. Learn from these items and from an short filmed actor’s portrayal of his life.

Hours & Admission

Currently open 7 days a week.

Admission: Adults $5.00, Children 12 and older and Senior Citizens $4.00, children under 12 Free.


bell icon


Visit Glenwood Springs

We are pleased to announce the US Forest Service rebuild of the Hanging Lake Trail that is set to begin this spring will allow for hiking on a limited basis through the construction period. Reservations will be available weekly, with available hiking dates and times released every Tuesday at 8:00 am MDT. This system aims to streamline access to the trail during construction, while ensuring a smooth and enjoyable experience for all visitors.

 Visit the Hanging Lake page HERE for more information and the booking portal.