facebook icon twitter icon instagram icon pinterest icon youtube icon

HISTORY

GLENWOOD SPRINGS HISTORY

Originally inhabited by nomadic Ute Indian tribes, this area of bubbling hot springs has long been a destination for the health seeker. In the early 1880’s, James Landis homesteaded the confluence of the Roaring Fork and Grand Rivers that would become Glenwood Springs.

Early settlers Isaac Cooper and Walter Devereux saw the potential for Glenwood Springs to become a highly regarded destination and developed these amenities into a world-class resort. The arrival of the railroads in 1887 brought the first trainloads of tourists to enjoy all that Glenwood had to offer. The addition of the Vapor Caves, Hotel Colorado and Fairy Caves provided a total package for travelers. The local economy was not only fueled by tourism but also by coal mining, farming and ranching, commerce and outdoor recreation. A visit to historic Glenwood Springs will take guests back in time to enjoy all of the amenities that were formerly reserved for the well-to-do.

Visit the Frontier Museum to add some history fun to your vacation!

Download and or print the Glenwood Springs Historical Society’s historic walking tour guide and read interesting facts about historic buildings and happenings while strolling through downtown.

Catch up with all historic happenings in Glenwood Springs! Read all Glenwood Springs history Blogs:

bell icon

ANNOUNCEMENTS

Visit Glenwood Springs

We are pleased to announce the US Forest Service rebuild of the Hanging Lake Trail that is set to begin this spring will allow for hiking on a limited basis through the construction period. Reservations will be available weekly, with available hiking dates and times released every Tuesday at 8:00 am MDT. This system aims to streamline access to the trail during construction, while ensuring a smooth and enjoyable experience for all visitors.

 Visit the Hanging Lake page HERE for more information and the booking portal.